Release the Sounds: The Entrance Band's self-titled album out NOW
Sasha Eisenman

Release the Sounds: The Entrance Band's self-titled album out NOW

For those who've become accustomed to the crowded, sweaty underbelly of OC/LA's hipster rock scene, chances are you've probably encountered The Entrance Band before. You're no stranger to their psychedelic savagery, heavy-handed rhythms and wailing blues. But if you haven't heard of them, now is the perfect time to get acquainted. Their roster includes Guy Blakeslee on guitar and vocals, Paz Lenchantin (formerly of A Perfect Circle) on bass and Derek James on drums. Yesterday, TEB released a self-titled album, the band's latest recorded effort since the 2006 LP Prayer of Death, back when the band was more or less considered Blakeslee's solo project.

Since then, they've morphed into The Entrance Band. For many of their fans, this self-titled effort is a chance to hear many of their live show favorites in all their portable, sonic brilliance. From the searing guitar riff of the album's opening song Lookout!, to Blakeslee's howling vocals and the pummeling energy of Grim Reaper Blues pt. 2, this record has some familiar sounds and plenty that are sure to surprise their growing fan base. By the way, that fan base now includes Sonic Youth front man Thurston Moore, who released the band's album on his label Ecstatic Peace! As the band continues to pick up steam on the road to being one of California's great up-and-coming rock-n-roll bands, this new album shows that they definitely know how to make an entrance. 

Checkout the tracklist:
Still Be There
Sing For The One
You're So Fine
Grim Reaper Blues (Pt. 2)
That Is Why
You Must Turn
Silence On A Crowded Train (LP bonus track)


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >