Matilda the Musical

Joan Marcus

Details

Tue., Jan. 17, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 18, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Jan. 19, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Jan. 20, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Jan. 21, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Sun., Jan. 22, 1 & 6:30 p.m., Tue., Jan. 24, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 25, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Jan. 26, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Jan. 27, 7:30 p.m., Sat., Jan. 28, 2 & 7:30 p.m. and Sun., Jan. 29, 1 & 6:30 p.m. 2017
$25

Location Info:

Segerstrom Hall
600 Town Center Dr.
Costa Mesa, CA  92626
714-556-2787
Two iconoclastic mad geniuses worked independently on the subversively surprising collaboration that is the award-winning musical Matilda. The original story of the precocious Matilda who insists on a vigorous intellectual life despite her horrible family and school was written in 1988 by that great literary provocateur Roald Dahl. In a typically Dahlian world of irredeemably stupid grownups our empathetic, smart rebel-girl role model finds a mentor in a singular librarian, locating her particularly vivid power in the application of anti-authoritarian skepticism to the hoorah of organized and oppressive reality. Decades later, the celebrated atheist wit and musical phenom Tim Minchin channeled the spirit of Dahl into a smart, funny musical with something to delight kids of all ages, and frighten naughty administrators of childhood who want to ban books and the imagination, all why they sing along.

Newsletters

All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories
    Send:

Newsletters

All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >