Nobel Peace Prize Laureates Lecture

Since 1901, fewer than 100 individuals have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. Of those, Soka University is fortunate to welcome two laureates to its campus this week. Betty Williams (who was a recipient alongside Mairead Corrigan for the 1976 prize) co-founded Community of Peace People, a group devoted to ending the violence occurring in Ireland at the time. She currently heads the Global Children’s Foundation and is President of the World Centers of Compassion for Children International. Joining Williams will be Shirin Ebadi (awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2003), founder of Iran’s Centre for Defense of Human Rights. A lawyer, human rights activist and former judge, Ebadi was the first Muslim woman to receive the prize. Due to the prosecution of Iranians who are critical of their country’s regime, Ebadi has lived in exile since 2009.
Wed., Oct. 6, 10:30 a.m., 2010


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >