Avenue Q

Orange County Performing Arts Center

The story behind Avenue Q is a familiar one: Youthful dreams of making it big in New York City with a tiny bank account. In the opening act, we’re immediately introduced to an apartment-hunting college grad named Princeton. He contemplates life, his direction, his purpose—and then breaks into a musical number titled “What Do You Do With a BA in English?” Avenue Q won three Tonys, including Best Musical—which they snatched up from leading contender and now international mega-hit Wicked. But it’s the way the story is told that’s truly notable: Puppets. Irreverent, sassy puppets with names such as Mrs. Thistletwat and Lucy the Slut. The show was meant to be an obvious homage to PBS’ long-running children’s program Sesame Street, with a few more topics thrown in: homosexuality (see: “If You Were Gay”), racism (“Everyone’s a Little Bit Racist”) and pornography (“The Internet Is for Porn”). Brought to you by N, C and the number 17.
Tue., March 31, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., April 1, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., April 2, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., April 3, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., April 4, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., April 5, 1 & 6:30 p.m.; Tue., April 7, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., April 8, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., April 9, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., April 10, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., April 11, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., April 12, 1 & 6:30 p.m., 2009
 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Anaheim Concert Tickets
Loading...