Grease

Orange County Performing Arts Theater

The halls of Rydell High School are exactly as you left them last you saw Sandy, Danny Zuko, Frenchy and Rizzo live onstage—or whenever the last time you caught the Sunday-afternoon showing of the 1978 film version on TV. Grease debuted in Chicago in 1971, and at one time, it was the longest-running stage show in history. It’s an all-too-familiar tale of greasers, poodle skirts, beauty-school dropouts and T-Birds, but it also brought to light social issues such as teen pregnancy scares and gang violence as well as plenty of sexual exploration through innuendo—our favorite is the lyric “You know that I ain’t bragging; she’s a real pussy wagon.” So gather up the kids (assuming you don’t mind exposing them to the term “pussy wagon”) and take them to see the original High School Musical —hey, there’s no Zac Efron, but there is Taylor Hicks as Teen Angel. That works, right?
Tue., April 28, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., April 29, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., April 30, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., May 1, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., May 2, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., May 3, 1 & 6:30 p.m.; Tue., May 5, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., May 6, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., May 7, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., May 8, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., May 9, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., May 10, 1 & 6:30 p.m., 2009
 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Anaheim Concert Tickets
Loading...